Eyster Named MFC Player of the Year, Seven Others Honored

Eyster Named MFC Player of the Year, Seven Others Honored

April 30, 2018

Gainesville, FL – The Santa Fe Saints won the Mid-Florida Conference for the third year in a row this season, and eighth time in the last 12 years in 2018, clinching with three games having yet been played.  In doing so, they were honored individually in four of the five major awards, seven All-MFC First Team members and one All-MFC Second Team.

Head Coach Johnny Wiggs was named the Coach of the Year for the eighth time in his twelve-year stint at Santa Fe College, adding it to the two FCSAA Coach of the Year Awards.

Andrew Eyster wrapped up his first collegiate regular season as the MFC Player of the Year.  Eyster currently has a .406 average (76-for-187) with 12 homeruns, 17 doubles, and five triples, giving him 34 extra base hits.  He drove in 50 runs and reached base at a .472 clip.

Max McKinley made his sophomore season at Santa Fe count, picking up the MFC Pitcher of the Year award.  His regular season ended with a 6-2 record, four complete games with two shutouts in back to back starts and a 2.83 ERA in 82.2 innings pitched.  He struck out 73 and walked just 13.

Garrett Mathes, a two way player for the Saints, was named the Fireman of the Year, given annually to the best reliever.  He made 13 appearances, collected four saves, and struck out 26 in 25.2 innings pitched with a 1.40 ERA.  He was undeated at 6-0.

All-MFC First Team: Eyster, Mathes, McKinley, Brock Edge (.399, 8 HR, 11 2B, 37 RBI), Cade Westbrook (.400, 9 2B, 32 RBI), Devin Hemenway (6-2, 2.94 ERA, 79 K's) and Haydn Cano (.323, 9 2B, 28 RBI).

All-MFC Second Team: Jarrod Cande (.326, 4 HR, 25 RBI).

The Saints will compete at the FCSAA State Tournament in Lakeland at Joker Marchant Stadium May 11-15.  The first game for SF is on May 11 at 7:00 p.m.  Tournament info can be found here.

For complete schedules, stats, and more information please visit